‘Started to cry but then remembered’ that Miley Cyrus released new album ‘Endless Summer Vacation’

Emilie Erickson

Dangling in the sky, Cyrus poses for the cover of her new album, “Endless Summer Vacation.” (Image courtesy of USA Today)

Song rankings 5-star scale:

  1. “Flowers” 5/5 
  2. “Jaded” 5/5 
  3. “Rose Colored Lenses” 4/5
  4. “Thousand Miles (feat. Brandi Carlile)” 3/5
  5. “You” 4/5 
  6. “Handstand” 2/5 
  7. “River” 5/5 
  8. “Violet Chemistry” 3/5 
  9. “Muddy Feet (feat. Sia)” 3/5 
  10. “Wildcard” 4/5 
  11. “Island” 3/5 
  12. “Wonder Woman” 2/5 
  13. “Flowers (Demo)” 3/5 


On March 10, 2023, world-renowned pop artist Miley Cyrus released her newest album, “Endless Summer Vacation.” On Jan. 13, Cyrus teased the upcoming project with her single “Flowers”. The pop song climbed to the top of Billboard’s Pop Airplay Charts after only five weeks on the chart. According to As Entertainment, “Flowers” became the fastest single to reach the top of the charts since Justin Timberlake’s “Can’t Stop the Feeling” in 2016.

Cyrus’ music spans varied styles, such as country, rock, pop, hip-hop and R&B. This album gives off a relaxed R&B pop sound and seems to focus on the concept of Cyrus’s past, as she is enlightened with a new outlook on life–centered around the idea of love and independence. These ideologies appear as a theme throughout the 13 songs. Fans have also speculated that “Flowers” is based on Cyrus’s failed relationship with actor Liam Hemsworth. 

The majority of the songs carry the same beat and peaceful rhythm. Picture yourself driving in your car with the windows down and the sun gleaming on your face– “Endless Summer Vacation” is definitely the kind of track you would want playing.

Cyrus sings her heart out to “Flowers,” in her music video. (Image courtesy of Leisurebyte)

In the second song of the album, “Jaded”, Cyrus expresses her regret after a breakup and focuses on the underlying issues that persist after a relationship ends. Although this song has a serene effect and a nostalgic melody, the lyrics of this song possess a deeper meaning. You can’t help but notice a natural flow throughout these tracks. In the 11th song, “Island”, Cyrus stresses her feelings of loneliness and desire. At this moment in her life, Cyrus is unsure if she is in paradise or just simply alone. These sentiments are emphasized during the chorus, “Am I stranded on an island? Or have I landed in paradise?” With its soothing water droplet sound effects and tropical tune, this song will put your mind in a tranquil state. 

Miley Cyrus has built an incredible reputation for herself in the music industry. Her music embodies youth, passion and power. Despite the fact that this album strayed from Cyrus’s typical fast-paced music, it was refreshing to witness her fully embody her maturing self in this album. “Endless Summer Vacation” will undoubtedly be a bright soundtrack of the summer.